Big Stone County Auditor's Office



20 2nd St SE, Suite 103 Ortonville, MN 56278

Phone: (320) 839-6366 Fax: (320) 839-6370 auditors@bigstonecounty.org

Instructions for Completion of Application for Temporary On Sale 3.2 Malt Liquor License

Minnesota Statute 340A.403 (see below) states that a temporary license may be issued to "a club or charitable, religious, or nonprofit organization". Therefore, that is who must be listed on the first line of the application that reads "License on behalf of". That organization is who the license will be issued to.

Please note that the applicant's signature must be notarized.

Once all the necessary signatures have been obtained on the application and the workers compensation form is completed, they should be returned to the Big Stone County Auditor's Office along with the \$50.00 fee. The application will be taken to the County Board for their approval. (The Board normally meets the first and third Tuesday of each month.) The license will then be sent to the applicant.

If you have any questions concerning the application, please contact our office.

Minnesota Statute 340A.403 3.2 PERCENT MALT LIQUOR LICENSES.

Subdivision 1. **Issuance by county or city.** The governing body of a city or county may issue off-sale or on-sale licenses for the sale of 3.2 percent malt liquor within their respective jurisdictions.

Subd. 2. **Temporary licenses.** (a) A club or charitable, religious, or nonprofit organization may be issued a temporary on-sale license for the sale of 3.2 percent malt liquor. (b) The temporary license may authorize the sale of 3.2 percent malt liquor in any school or school buildings. (c) Temporary licenses are subject to the terms set by the issuing county or city.

Subd. 3. Exemption. (a) Any person licensed to sell intoxicating liquor at on-sale shall not be required to obtain an on-sale license under this section, and may sell non-intoxicating malt beverages at on-sale without further license. (b) Any person licensed to sell intoxicating liquor at off-sale shall not be required to obtain an off-sale license under this section, and may sell non-intoxicating malt beverages at off-sale without further license.

Subd. 4. **Notice to commissioner.** Within ten days of the issuance of a license under this section, a municipality shall inform the commissioner, on a form the commissioner prescribes, of the licensee's name and address and trade name, the effective date and expiration date of the license, and any other information on the license the commissioner requires.