REGULAR MEETING OF THE BIG STONE COUNTY BOARD December 1, 2020

The Big Stone County Board of Commissioners met in the courtroom at 5:00 PM on Tuesday, December 1, 2020. Chairman Athey called the meeting to order with Commissioners Klepel, Olson and Sandberg present. Commissioner Backer was participating via TEAMS. Also present were Dillon Dwyer of the Ortonville Independent, Jeff Klages, HR Director Dawn Gregoire, IT Director Matt Anderson and County Auditor Michelle Knutson. Coordinator Pam Rud was participating via TEAMS. The Pledge of Allegiance followed.

The work session included a discussion on elected officials' salaries. County Attorney Joe Glasrud arrived during the session. Coordinator Rud stated that this session was to gather information and then the decision would be on the next meeting's agenda. Commissioner Sandberg clarified that board members should come with their recommendations in dollar amounts instead of percentages. Auditor Knutson provided an update on the transition of Treasurer duties and responsibilities to her position upon the combination at the start of 2021.

Motion by Sandberg, seconded by Olson and carried to approve the minutes of the November 17th regular meeting.

Motion by Olson, seconded by Klepel and carried to approve the agenda with the addition of an update on Bentsen Lake spillway.

Commissioners reported on the following committees:

Sandberg – MSI; LELS; Property

Olson - Pioneerland

Backer - CPT; Personnel; BdSWD; RDC; CARES

Athey - Personnel; Prairie 5; LELS; CARES; SWCD

Attorney Glasrud reported that there have been 2 HRA board member resignations. Consensus was to temporarily appoint commissioners to fulfill the terms. Motion by Olson and seconded by Sandberg to appoint Commissioner Athey to fill Rondi Lillehaug's term, which expires in 2024. Motion carried with Athey abstaining. Motion by Olson and seconded by Backer to appoint Commissioner Sandberg to fill Cindy Moen's term, which expires in 2021. Motion carried with Sandberg abstaining.

Motion by Sandberg, seconded by Klepel and carried to authorize payment of the following claims as presented by Auditor Knutson:

Anoka County	\$ 2,000.00
Carquest of Ortonville	4,227.98
CBS Squared	2,124.50
Central Suspensions	3,950.00
JRH Auto	4,626.29
Pro West & Associates	9,205.88
Ronglien & Sons Excavating	14,680.00
Steve Strei	2,475.00
Traverse County Sheriff	2,820.00
West Central Communications	2,888.75
17 Payments Less Than \$2,000	7,301.94
Total	\$56,300.34

Motion by Olson, seconded by Sandberg and carried to approve the following tobacco license applications for 2021:

Casey's General Store DG Retail, LLP dba Dollar General Holiday Stationstore Jamer's One Stop Tri-County Coop

Motion by Klepel, seconded by Olson and carried to execute the 2021 Legal Services Agreement with Rinke Noonan and selecting the monthly retainer plus hourly services billing option as presented by Auditor Knutson.

Motion by Sandberg, seconded by Klepel and carried to execute the audit engagement letter with Abdo Eick & Meyers for the 2020 audit and authorize Auditor Knutson to sign on behalf of the County.

Discussion was held on the possibility of seeking outside assistance with reviewing processes when the Auditor and Treasurer offices combine. Auditor Knutson will report back at the next meeting with options and cost.

Following a short break, Engineer Larson updated the Board via TEAMS on the Bentsen Lake spillway. Consensus of the Board was to follow the Watershed District's recommendation to reconstruct the spillway to the elevation shown on the original plan.

At 6:00 PM, Chairman Athey asked for public comment on the County's 2021 budget and levy. No comments were received.

Motion by Olson, seconded by Sandberg and carried to close the meeting at 6:02 PM for labor negotiations. All commissioners, Coordinator Rud, HR Director Gregoire and Attorney Glasrud were present for the closed session.

Motion by Olson, seconded by Klepel and carried to reopen the meeting at 6:14 PM at which time Chairman Athey adjourned the meeting.

ATTEST:	
Wade Athey, Chairman	Michelle R. Knutson, Auditor